2024 CRA Award of Distinction and CRA Master Award recipients announced

Canadian Rheumatology Association, Dec. 20, 2023 – The Canadian Rheumatology Association (CRA) is pleased to announce the 2024 Awards of Distinction winners. These esteemed awards are bestowed annually upon those CRA members who have demonstrated excellence in the field of rheumatology.  

The 2024 Awards of Distinction winners are:  

  • Distinguished Rheumatologist: John M. Esdaile, MD, MPH, FRCPC, FCAHS, MACR 
  • Distinguished Investigator: Ann Clarke, MD, MSc, FRCPC 
  • Distinguished Teacher-Educator: Nicole Johnson, MSc, MD, FRCPC 
  • Emerging Investigator: Tom Appleton, MD, PhD, FRCPC 
  • Emerging Teacher-Educator: Pari Basharat, MD, FRCPC

“The hard work and dedication of our five Awards of Distinction winners is truly impressive,” says Dr. Nigil Haroon, CRA President. “These members fully deserve this recognition from their peers and the CRA for their exceptional contributions to the field of rheumatology in Canada. We are incredibly proud of them.”  

In addition to the Awards of Distinction, the CRA is also pleased to announce the winners of the CRA Master Awards.  

 The CRA Awards of Distinction recipients are nominated by their peers, and all award nominations are adjudicated by the Nominations and Awards committee. The award winners are selected by the Nominations and Awards Committee and approved by the CRA Board of Directors. 

 The Master Award, first launched in 2020, is a lifetime achievement award bestowed upon members aged 65 and older who have made outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology through service to patients, administrative service, teaching and education and/or rheumatology research.  

 The CRA is pleased to honour the 2024 CRA Master Award winners:  

  • Jan Willem Cohen Tervaert, MD, PhD 
  • Bianca Angelica Lang, MD, FRCPC 
  • Mary Bell, MD, MSc, FRCPC 
  • Gilles Boire, MD, MSc, FRCPC 

 On behalf of all CRA members, congratulations to the 2024 Awards of Distinction and CRA Master Awards winners. Their successes will be celebrated in Winnipeg at the upcoming CRA & AHPA Annual Scientific Meeting, Feb. 28 – March 2, 2024.   

For more information, visit