Leadership & Committees

Board of Directors

The CRA nominations committee is chaired by the Past President and is made up of past presidents, and other members at large (in good standing) who volunteer.  The CRA puts out a call for volunteers (for board and all committees) yearly. The nominations’ committee chair approaches those people who volunteer for the board to gauge interest, commitment and skills.  The names are presented to the nomination committee to review and then the shortlist is nominated and elected at the AGM.


The CRA nominations’ committee approaches members of the board of directors to gauge their interest in becoming an officer (Secretary-Treasurer, Vice-President and possibly eventually President) and nominate them to the board for voting after the Annual General Meeting.

Dr. Evelyn Sutton

Dr. Nigil Haroon

Dr. Vandana Ahluwalia

Dr. John Wade

Chief Executive Officer
Dr. Ahmad Zbib

Board of Directors

Dr. Vandana Ahluwalia
Dr. Louis Bessette
Dr. Nigil Haroon
Dr. Ron Laxer
Dr. Lillian Lim
Dr. Evelyn Sutton
Dr. Michelle Teo
Dr. Stephanie Tom
Dr. John Wade

Board Committees

Chair, Board Education
Dr. Louis Bessette
Board Education Committee
Chair, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Task Force
Dr. Nicole Johnson
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Task Force
Chair, Finance and Risk Management
Dr. John Wade
Finance and Risk Management Committee
Chair, Industry Council
Dr. Nigil Haroon
Industry Council Committee
Chair, Nominations & Awards
Dr. Vandana Ahluwalia
Nominations & Awards Committee
Chair, Strategic Planning Task Force
Dr. Evelyn Sutton
Strategic Planning Task Force

Operational Committees

Chair, Annual Scientific Meeting Program
Dr. Vinod Chandran

  • Chair, Abstract Review
    Dr. Marinka Twilt
Annual Scientific Meeting Program Committee
Chair, Communications
Dr. Dax Rumsey
Communications Committee
Chair, Education
Dr. Raheem Kherani

  • Chairs, CanREAL (Canadian Rheumatology Education and Learning)
    Drs. Mercedes Chan and Marie Paule-Morin
  • Chairs, CPD (Continuing Professional Development)
    Drs. Gregory Choy and Marie Paule-Morin
  • Chair, NWRITE (National Written Rheumatology In-Training Examination)
    Dr. Raheem Kherani
  • Chairs, Postgraduate
    Drs. Marie Clements-Baker and Dharini Mahendira
  • Chairs, Undergraduate
    Drs. Lori Albert and Robert Ferrari

Program Committee Chairs

  • Chair, LEAP (CRA LEAdership Program)
    Dr. Janet Pope
  • Chairs, NRRW (National Rheumatology Residents Weekend)
    Drs. Elizabeth Hazel and Dharini Mahendira
  • Chairs, Residents’ Pre-Course
    Drs. Dana Jerome and Jason Kur
  • Chairs, CRA Review Course
    Drs. Shahin Jamal and Trudy Taylor
Education Committee
Chair, Guidelines
Dr. Glen Hazlewood
Guidelines Committee
Chair, Human Resources
Drs. Claire Barber and Jessica Widdifield
Human Resources Committee
Chair, Pediatrics
Dr. Ronald Laxer

  • Chairs, Advocacy
  • Chair, Choosing Wisely
    Dr. Nadia Luca
  • Chair, Community Pediatrics
    Dr. Tommy Gerschman
  • Chair, Education
    Drs. Mercedes Chan and Evelyn Rozenblyum
  • Chair, Human Resources
    Dr. Michelle Batthish
Pediatrics Committee
Chair, Quality Care
Dr. Amanda Steiman

  • Chair, Choosing Wisely
    Dr. Shirley Lake
  • Chair, Equity
    Dr. Cheryl Barnabe
  • Chair, Access
    Dr. Amanda Steiman
  • Chair, Quality
    Dr. Claire Barber
Quality Care Committee
Chair, Research
Dr. Janet Pope

  • Chair, CIORA Grant Review
    Dr. Marie Hudson
Research Committee
Chair, Stakeholder Engagement
Dr. Carter Thorne
Stakeholder Engagement Committee
Chair, Therapeutics
Dr. Rosie Scuccimarri
Therapeutics Committee


CRAJ Editor-in Chief
Dr. Philip Baer

Liaison, Journal of Rheumatology
Dr. Jamie Henderson

Liaison, The Arthritis Society (Medical Advisory Committee Chair)
Dr. Evelyn Sutton

President, Arthritis Health Professions Association (AHPA)
Ms. Anne MacLeod

The Journal of Rheumatology – Board of Directors

Dr. Cory Baillie

Dr. Carter Thorne

Board Secretary/Director
Dr. Joanne Homik

Directors at Large
Drs. Philip Baer and Shahin Jamal