Dr. Evelyn Sutton

2014 Teacher-Educator Award

Dr. Evelyn Sutton is perhaps most well known in medical education circles for her book “Musculoskeletal Examination: A Primer for Medical Students”. The book was originally published in 2004 and has been widely used by medical students and residents across the country and internationally. However, her passion for education and teaching extends well beyond the realm of textbook authorship.

Evelyn has served many roles within the Faculty of Medicine at Dalhousie University in undergraduate, postgraduate, and continuing medical education. She was program director for the adult rheumatology residency training program for 11 years and continues to be a much valued member of the rheumatology residency program committee. She was part of a small group that pioneered a one month elective in medical education for residents of all disciplines at Dalhousie University which is now in its tenth year and has been recognized by the Royal College as an innovation of excellence. Since 2006, Evelyn has served as Assistant Dean of Medical School Admissions, and was also the Assistant Dean of Student Affairs from 2006 to 2010. Within the CRA, she has organized the rheumatology residents pre-course for the Annual Scientific Meeting for several years.

Evelyn’s outstanding contribution to medical education has been recognized regionally and nationally. She has won the Dalhousie University Excellence in Postgraduate Teaching Award on many occasions, as well as the prestigious Faculty of Medicine Community of Scholars Award for Excellence in Medical Education. She has also been recognized nationally for her teaching with the Canadian Association of Medical Education (CAME) Certificate of Merit.

Evelyn has been a beloved teacher, mentor, and champion for medical students and residents since starting her career in Halifax. She is widely recognized as an enthusiastic and effective teacher by all levels of learners. It is certainly fitting that she be honoured with the distinguished CRA Teacher-Educator Award for 2014.