Dr. Shirley Tse

2019 Teacher-Educator Award

Dr. Shirley Tse, the CRA Teacher-Educator awardee for 2019 is an all-round academic physician with superb clinical skills. She has demonstrated outstanding performance as a teacher and mentor and has a productive research career trajectory.

Shirley has been the Program Director for the Paediatric Rheumatology Training Program at the University of Toronto since 2007. The program is highly successful with outstanding pass rates on The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons examinations, impressive academic productivity of the trainees and an excellent record of assisting graduates in securing academic faculty positions across Canada and around the world.  Shirley has led the implementation of substantial improvements to the training program curriculum and established new clinical experiences in Community Paediatric Rheumatology and Longitudinal Resident and Fellow Clinics.

At the national level, Shirley is a member of the Education Committee of the Canadian Rheumatology Association and has been the Chair of The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons Paediatric Rheumatology Examination Board since 2013. She is also a member of the American College of Rheumatology Resident Program Committee and is currently intimately involved in the development of national Entrustable Professional Activities and Milestones through the Royal College in preparation for the implementation of Competency by Design (CBD).

Shirley has also been an outstanding teacher and mentor and has received multiple prestigious teaching awards. Most notable among the many are the POWER teaching award, based on consistently outstanding teaching scores for resident teaching and the Dafna Gladman Award for Sustained Outstanding Clinical and Educational Contributions in Rheumatology at the University of Toronto.

Shirley is an accomplished academic Paediatric Rheumatologist and award-winning program director who has devoted much of her career to advance the training and development of students, residents and senior fellows. She richly deserves this recognition by the Canadian Rheumatology Association.